How I Found The Perfect School In Williamsburg

My son recently turned 5 and it was time for him to graduate from preschool to elementary school. I live in Williamsburg Northside, and work in Queens, which is roughly a 30-minute drive from my home. I wanted his school to be located on my way to work as dropping and picking him up would be convenient.

First, I needed to decide on a school in Queens or in Williamsburg North. I spent a good part of my day in Queens, while I had my home in here. I finally settled on Williamsburg for the school location.

I made a list of some schools in Williamsburg Northside, and decided to visit them over the weekend. I finally settled on a school by the side of the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway. The location was perfect for my needs, and the school staff seemed polite and caring.

One the first day at his new school, my son and I left home early. He seemed strangely quiet, which was quite unusual for a kid as mischievous as him. Probably speculating about his new classmates, I thought.

The principal stood at the entrance and welcomed the newcomers with open arms. While most school principals are usually strict, he was a favorite among his students. The school staff were very friendly, and I somehow felt reassured that my son will be in good hands.

That day, when I was returning back from work, I was anxious about my son’s first day at school. I pulled into the school courtyard, and found him waiting outside for me.

He had a smile across his face, which was an indication that he had a great first day. He told me how he made new friends, two of whom lived a couple of blocks from our home.

I was glad that he quickly found his feet in his new school.